By Our Reporter

OMORO: Preliminary results from the Omoro County by-election obtained by our team show that National Resistance Movement’s, Andrew Ojok Oulanyah is leading the race in a few selected polling stations.

Five other candidates including Toolit Simon Akecha of National Unity Platform-NUP, Odong Justin Obiya of Forum for Democratic Change-FDC, Kizza Oscar of Alliance for National Transformation-ANT, Terrence Odonga (Independent) and Jimmy Onen Walter also Independent are in the race.

At Odek P7 School polling station, Ojok got 148 votes, Toolit Simon Akecha 43, Odonga 3, Kizza and Obiya got 2 votes each while Onen got 0 votes.

At Te-Olam Center polling station which has 242 registered voters, Ojok got 62 votes, Toolit 19, Obiya 4, Odonga and Kizza got one vote each while Onen got 0.

At Awere trading centre polling station which has 450 registered voters, Ojok got 99 votes, Toolit 56 votes, Odonga 9 votes, Obiya 8, Onen 1 while Kizza Oscar got 0.

At Te-Muyeme polling station, Toolit led with 122 votes, Ojok got 62 votes, Odonga 4 votes while Kizza, Obiya and Onen all got 0 votes.

188 people voted out of the 262 registered voters.

At Opit market polling station in Omoro Town council which has 955 registered voters, Ojok got 216 votes, Toolit 64, Obiya 11, Kiiza 2, Onen 6 and Odonga 5.

At Lukwir primary school A-A polling station in Lakwaya Sub County, Ojok led with 43 votes, Toolit 12, Odonga 3, Obiya 2 while Kiiza and Onen got zero each.

Luwir Primary school had 349 registered voters.

At Lukwir Primary B-Z polling station with 461 registered voters, Ojok got 74 votes, Toolit 30, Odonga 9, Obiya 4, Kiiza 1 and Onen 0.

At Opit primary school polling station in Omoro Town council, Ojok led with 127, Toolit 36, Obiya 6, Onen 3 while Kiiza and Odonga got 1 each.

The constitution mandate only the Electoral Commission to declare the winner of the elections.

A total of 38,638 people registered to take part in the elections following the death of Jacob L’Okori Oulanyah on March 20th.

Do you have a story in your community or an opinion to share with us? Email us at editorial@ugreports.com

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button