By Our Reporter

KAMPALA: It was a display of the glitz and glam at Uganda’s biggest hip-hop night at the 2022 MTN UG Hip-Hop awards as MTN unveiled this edition’s winners.

Bernard Ayesiga aka Crazie Wispa over the weekend won the MTN Uganda’s hip-hop ward 2022 for the Western Uganda.

Wispa who hails from Kyedikyo village in Mirya sub county Masindi district in Bunyoro sub region told ugreports Monday afternoon that it was through his fans that he managed to grab the award on behalf of Bunyoro.

‘’Due to the support of my fans, though few people listen to Hip-Hop music, I was able to grab the award for the people of Bunyoro, and I’m proud of their support and the award grabbed, I pledge to continue doing my best,’’ he said.

Wispa has so far grabbed two national awards, one for 256 Uganda Hip-Hop Awards, while two for MTN Uganda Hip-Hop Awards. ‘’I have been able to win the awards because of hard work, persistence and support from my fans,’’ he disclosed.

The UG Hip-Hop awards were created to recognize and celebrate the talent and hard work of artists in Uganda’s hip-hop industry. This year’s awards winners are:

Album of the year – Kraccbone – Ego

Male artist of the year – Navio – 30 seconds to Hollywood

Female artist of the year – STONE AGE UG – KIMALA NEKIGWA

Rookie of the year – Zedmonk Ssabatontomi – Work si myaka

Inspirational song of the year – AJ Stylz ft. Spyda MC – Nkowola

Song of the year – The Mith ft. Herbert Ssesamba – I GIVE HER LOVE

The collaboration of the Year – Lagum the Rapper ft. Bangi – Catching Flights

Rap Fusion of the Year – Keinoh – Dior

Video of the year – Keinoh – Drip

Best Producer – 207

African Artist of the year – Khaligraph Jones

Eastern Uganda artist of the year – AJ Stylz – Put in the work

Northern Uganda artist of the year – Judas Rapknowledge da Akbar – Heart of Hannibal Barca

Western Uganda artist of the year – Crazie Wispa – Mwebale /Thank you

Central Uganda artist of the year – Felista di superstar

Lyricist of the year – Lyrical G – Sikyasaaga (The L-Matic)

Hip Hop Deejay of the Year – DJ Victor 256

Mixtape of the year personality of the year – Kavali King – 16 track tape

Sweet Sixteen – 207 – Abajega

Media personality – Calvin the Entertainer


Special Awards

Lifetime Achievement Award – Steve Jean

Do you have a story in your community or an opinion to share with us? Email us at editorial@ugreports.com

Related Articles

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button